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. FAQ AND ERRATA ].2 PRINT AT HOME ERRATA CARDS

Print and assemble the cards in the following order:
» PSYCHO MANTIS - CODEC BOOK )
REFERENCE ADJUSTMENT: 0277 GLUE

[MINOR SPOILERS] During the Psycho Mantis Boss Mission, any reference in
the Codec book to 3.14 should instead be interpreted as 3.11. This correction 03— C uT
ensures alignment with the intended gameplay experience. ¢

» OCELOT BOSS CARD - RELOAD ABILITY:

The RELOAD ability on Ocelot's boss card is a Reaction and should be marked f
with a reaction icon @ A printable, updated card is provided below. o1 FOL D

ACTION
Move @ away from the nearest player.
Place 1damage on Kenneth Baker.

RELOAD ©

Move 1away from the active player. Return this card to the
top of the deck.

: <— Fold Here
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» STAGE 13 - MAP ICON CORRECTIONS:

In Stage 13, only 1Barracks tile should be in the Warehouse at any player count. The
Barracks with the Terminal was missing the “2/3/4" icon, included for Otacon at
higher player counts. Additionally, an extraneous "1" icon has been removed from
the Barracks in the Underground Base. A printable updated page is provided below.

SPECIAL SETUP

n l: No locked doors. No Camera tokens. Use the @ Place the Barracks
Tile as indicated in the Warehouse. Treat all Barracks to say Guard Count 2.

n 8: Use the camera in the top right of Warehouse B. Use the locked
yellow door on the Underground Base. Use @

nl: Use the camera in the top right of the Warehouse B and the
camera on the Blast Furnace. Use all locked doors. Does not use the L

n l: Uses everything except the @
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» GENERAL GAMEPLAY

I Canmultiple figures occupy the same space?
I No, Snake. Two figures can't share the same space.

I Can dice be modified beyond the range of 110 6?
Yes, Snake. Focus tokens change the result directly. If you apply -2 to a roll of 2, you get 0. If you
apply +2to a roll of 6, you get 8.
S0 no limit as long as the modifier applies.

| That's right. The only roll you can't modify is the ! on the white dice. It's not a number, so no
adjustments.

I Canlrefreshand spend a focus token on the same turn?
I Ves, Snake. There's nothing stopping you from using a focus token right after you refresh it.

If Imove over an Event token, does my action end? Can | Dash across an ‘A" token and
pickit up, or do | have to stop on it?

When you move onto an Event token (A, B, C, etc.), you immediately resolve the Event using the
special rules for the Stage. You can do this as part of a Dash action. Once the Event is resolved,
you can continue your Dash.

Justgrab it and keep going, Snake. Check the Shadow Moses Campaign book, page 3, under
“Fvents”

» LINE OF SIGHT (LOS)

I Dofigures block Line of Sight (L0S)?
I No. Neither Player figures nor Guard figures block Line of Sight (LOS).

If a Guard is in the same column or row as me, with the arrow not facing me, does that
count as “facing” me when checking Line of Sight (L0S)?

No, Snake. A Guard facing sideways in your column isn't actually looking down the row or
column you're in. And if a Guard is facing downward in your row, it still has to meet the box
draw condition—if the box around you and the Guard crosses an obstacle, like a red or black
line, it won't have Line of Sight (LOS) on you. Stay aware of your surroundings.

Do Cameras follow the same Line of Sight (LOS) rules as Guards?

That's right, Snake. Cameras follow the same Line of Sight (LOS) rules as Guards. They only
face one of two directions, depending on which side of the Camera Direction token is showing.
Ifthe token is on its orange side, the Camera behaves like a Guard in its space, facing the
direction indicated by the orange side.

I Gotit

One more thing—Cameras can't see you if you're in the same space as them. Use that to your
advantage.

» ATTENTION TOKENS & NOISE

If I make noise in one zone, move to another, then roll a ! on a noise check, does the Attention
token follow me?

That's right, Snake. Let's say you Knock on a wall to lure a Guard, then Dash into another zone.
[fyourolla ! the Attention token goes where you are now, not where you made the noise. It
doesn't matter where you started. If you were loud and got noticed, the alerted Guards follow
your noises your new location.

What about Elevators? If | activate an Elevator while my Attention token is inside, does
it move with me?

[t'll follow you to the next zone. That means if you've already drawn Attention, it's coming with
you. Stay alert, you might not be alone when the doors open.

What happens to my Attention token if there aren't any guards in my zone? Do | still
have to perform noise checks?

Snake, unless you're told to remove your Attention token, it stays put. If there aren't any
Guards in your zone, you don't need to roll for noise. No enemies, no noise check. But don't get
careless.

Snake

I Campbell
gi MeiLing
I !iﬂ Naomi

I If 1 perform a Knock action while my Attention token is already on the board with the
[ sice up, does it switch to the [2] side?
No, Snake. If your Attention token is already on the board showing - it stays that way.
| The Knock action just moves it to the space where you made the noise. Remember this when
you're drawing Attention.

> GUARD BEHAVIOUR AND Al

Guard Activation

I DoGuards that wake up activate during the Guard Activation phase?
Ifa Guard wakes up during the Guard Action step, that resolves first, so they will activate
as normal.

I Butifthey wake up from a Guard Reaction card?

I Thenthey don't activate.

I Can one Guard's activation influence another Guard's activation mode?

I Yes. Each Guard determines its mode at the start of its activation. If one that is farther moves
first and ends up closer to your Attention @tnken, the other will patrol as normal.

I Sothey're not just running around blindly.
Exactly. Genome Soldiers are highly coordinated. They communicate through military grade

| multi-band radios and relay movement updates in real time. If one Guard moves toward a
sound, he would have signaled the others to stay on patrol. It's standard protocol.

I You might be able to use that to your advantage, Snake.

I CanaGuard switch their Guard Mode during their activation?

No, Snake. A Guard's Mode is determined at the start of their activation and does not change for
the duration of that activation. Even if a Guard in Patrol gains Line of Sight (LOS) to a token that
would normally put them in Investigate mode, they will continue patrolling.

Sothey don't react to what's right in front of them?

Genome Soldiers follow their protocol to a fault. If a Guard starts in Patrol mode, they will stick
to their route, even if they spot something suspicious.

That kind of discipline could work against them.

Exactly. But these cases should be rare. Only a Guard that begins its activation in Investigate
mode will move toward the token along the shortest path. So be careful, Snake.

What takes precedence when ending a Guard's turn? Does a Guard landing on a .
Alert token turn at the end of their turn?

No. Since your- Alert token was already on the board when the Guard activated, that
Guard is in Alert mode and ignores any % turn icons on the map. If a Guard moves onto
your Alert token (this also applies to KO Guard or Dead Guard tokens), they stop immediately
and resolve a Guard Reaction card. As long as they aren't facing a wall or obstacle, they follow
protocol and maintain their facing direction.

So once they're in Alert mode, they stick to their objective, no detours.

Exactly. Ifa Guard is in Investigate or Alert mode, they always take the shortest path to their
target. Guards also never end their activation facing a wall or obstacle—they will adjust their
path if needed. Stay sharp.
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Guard Movement

When calculating a Guard's shortest path, do you account for leapfrogging?

No, Snake. When determining the shortest path, only count the spaces. If multiple paths have the
same number of spaces, the Genome Soldiers will always choose the one with the fewest turns.
The shortest path rules state: “The shortest path is the one with the fewest number of spaces
between two spaces on the map that does not cross obstacles like walls or locked doors.” You can
find this on page 15 of the Mission Rulebook. Good luck, Snake.

When a Guard leapfrogs another, does the leap and landing count as 1 movement? |
assume so since 2 Guards can't share a space.

That's right, Snake. The entire leapfrog counts as one movement, no matter how many Guards
they jump over.

Can they leapfrog around corners?

Yes, as long as there's a valid path. If a Guard moves into a corner and another follows, they
leapfrog as needed.

I You canfind an example on page 16 of your Mission Rulebook.

Guard Turning

I When does a Guard follow the blue arrow on a Guard Order card?

Guards only use the blue arrow when there's a valid path to the left and right (such as when facing
anobstacle). Ifthere's only one valid path to the left or right, the guard will ignore the arrow.
Sothey only use it when they're unsure which way to go.

Exactly. “The cautious seldom err”" Confucius knew the value of careful planning, Snake. Read
the rules carefully—it may save you one day.

Genome Soldiers always follow protocol. If they aren'tin Patrol mode, they take the shortest path
totheir destination.

Are blue arrows on Guard Order cards from the board's or Guards' perspective?

The blue arrows are from the Guard's perspective, Snake. Think of the right arrow as the Guard
turning clockwise and the left arrow as turning counterclockwise. That's how they follow their
patrol routes.

When | leapfrog a Guard, does the Guard turn to face me at the end of the movement?
No, Snake. The Guard will attack you but won't turn. Remember, you must place your Attention
. token at the end of the leapfrog movement.

Guard Attack

1 When do Guards attack?
Remember, Snake, Genome Soldiers normally only attack during the Enemy phase when they
| activate. The exception is if you leapfrog over them during your turn. When that happens, they
geta chance to attack.
I Soavoid getting cornered, Snake.

Guard Reactions & Spawning

I Where do Guards spawn in the Barracks?
Guards spawn on the space with the Radio icon. If that space is occupied, follow the rules for
“Spawning a Guard” in the Rulebook.

I What happens if there are no more Guard Reaction cards in the deck?
I Place the discard pile facedown to form a new deck.

of the deck,’ do I just place it there without activating it? Sounds like it's just to check
for the Mission Fail card.
That's right, Snake. You don't activate it—just reveal it in case it's the Mission Fail card. Losing
too many this way will bring you closer to failure.

I That rule’s on page 13 of your Mission Rulebook.

| When a Guard Reaction card says, “Reveal a Guard Order card and put it at the bottom

» MIERYL

I Alright...I'min Disguise. Do Guards treat me like one of their own?
Aslong as they don't get suspicious, looks that way. They won't see me as a threat and will
even leapfrog over me if needed. Just like any other Guard.

» OTACON

I Otacon, why does your Interact action have an ‘X’ while the rest of us have a '1'?
I Looks like a glitch in the system. It should be a1, not an ‘X Just treat it like the others.

I Otacon, can you use your Focus abilities on teammates?
Snake, anytime you guys use black dice, | can help with my Focus tokens. Take a look at my
Codec Call ability.
I Soyou can use the Codec Call to help out when we roll black dice?
Yeah. | can walk you through bypassing door security or warn you when a Guard is nearby. |
| can use any of my four Focus tokens, including the +1 Black Dice token. Since adding a die is
still considered modifying the roll, it works. Just make sure it's a black die.
I Gotit,
I Good luck, Snake.

I Otacon, do you need to hack the Terminal to access Boss System Cards?
| already hacked the Terminal in my space. | have access to the Boss System Cards for this
| stage. Now | can draw those cards and activate them using the System Search and Access
System actions.
I Good. 'm counting on you.
I Good luck, Snake.

» BOSS AND VR MISSIONS

Ina Boss Stage, does a Boss resolve a reaction every time the condition is met, or just
once at the end of the Player Phase?
I Everytime the condition is met, Snake. Bosses don't wait—they react immediately.

Damn, | won't be able to open this Locked Door 4if | go in alone.

Snake, if | were in the mission and within two spaces of you, | could help. You'd be able to use
my Focus tokens, including rolling an extra white die.

Don'tforget, | can also use my Codec Call ability to assist with my Focus tokens. But I'd need to
be part of the mission.

Can VR Missions be played with any number of players? And which team members can
be used?

Yes, Snake. VR Missions support 1to 4 players. Unlike the Campaign book, you're not restricted
to specific team members. You can use any combination.

I Youmean even | can do a mission on my own?

I Yes, Hal. Even you can take on a mission by yourself.

I I'mnotsure!like the sound of that... but Il do my best.

I Does a VR Boss use their Boss Deck?
No, Snake. VR Bosses don't use their special Boss Deck. Instead, follow the special rules on the
VR side of their dashboard—the green side.

I Sotheir attacks work differently too?
That's right. The number of dice they roll varies from boss to boss, so read their dashboard
carefully. And if a VR Boss sees you, they trigger the alarm. Watch your back, Snake.

Snake

I !i:i Naomi
gi MeiLing
I Campbell
. Meryl
E Otacon
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» WEAPONS & EQUIPMENT

I Hmm...the SOCOM doesn't have an ammo count like the others. What's the deal?
There should be enough 45 caliber rounds on the base so you won't run out. If there's no
ammo count on the equipment card, you don't need to worry about running out of ammo.

I You're not so naked anymore, Snake.

I Good luck out there, Snake.

Can | target more than one enemy with a weapon? I rolled enough damage in one
attack to kill a second Guard.

No, only specific weapons can attack multiple targets, Snake. Check the Equipment card—it'll
tell you how many enemies you can hit.

I Colonel, can I shoot through other figures?
I VYes, Snake. Other figures don't block Line of Sight (LOS) for firearm attacks.

I CanC4 be detonated by shooting it?
I Sorry, Snake. You won't be able to shoot explosives to detonate them.
I Colonel, can't1just aim at them in first-person view mode?

I Snake, that feature was implemented in 7win Snakes. This is based on the original 57 version.

I Damn..

If 1 use or consume an unlocked Equipment card, is it gone for the rest of the
campaign?
I No, Snake. It's only removed for the current Stage. You can use it again in future missions.

» STAGE SPECIFIC QUESTIONS
Stage 2

I Canlreach Event B without entering the Camera's Line of Sight (L0S)?
Be careful, Snake. That Camera can always see Event B. You can reach it by moving into its
space, but the Camera will spot you.

I Sothere's noway around it.
That's right. But remember, this is an optional objective. You don't need it to complete the
Stage. And you can always replay a Stage when you're better equipped.

Stage 3

I Doesthe Stage end immediately once 12 Guards have been taken outin the Holding Cells?
That's right, Snake. Once you've taken out 12 Guards, the Stage is complete. You don't need to
reach Event marker C or an exit if you complete the objective.

to reach the exit?
No, Snake. If you or Meryl have the C marker, either of you can reach the exit to complete the
Stage. I'l let you choose the best course of action.

Stage 4

When Ocelot’s action says to move away from the active player, can that movement
actually bring him closer in another direction?
Looks like Ocelot moves by choosing the path that puts more distance between you and him.
In some cases, that might mean he ends up moving closer to you than he started.

I Sohe's not always running—just trying to create space.

I That's right. See if you can use that to your advantage.

Whatif we decide to go for Event C? Does the player with the marker have to be the one

Stage 6

I Can Guards use ranged weapons in the Nuke Building L1 and Nuke Building Truck?
I VYes, Snake. They can.
I You said no weapons.
| said you can't use weapons in there. The Guards are wearing radiation suits to protect them
| in case the warheads are damaged. Your sneaking suit doesn't provide that kind of protection,
and your nanomachines won't help either. Keep that in mind, Snake.

I Canallplayers use the Nikita Special Action card once we obtain it?
I Sorry, Snake. Only one person can use it, and that's whoever picked it up from Nuke Building BI.

I Do Nikita missiles stay in place if I take other actions on my turn?
Those are remote-controlled reconnaissance missiles, sometimes called Nikita missiles. They
have CCD cameras in their nosecones, transmitting visual data back to your monitor.

After you fire them, you control their flight freely in all directions. But they only move when you
spend an action to guide them. If you're not controlling the missile, it stays in place, so you can

perform other actions while a Nikita missile is on the map.

Nuke Building B1

I Colonel, do these obstacles block line of sight?

No, Snake. When checking Line of Sight (L0S), ignore these and other similar protruding walls.
Artwork sometimes extends over the grid lines, but if a figure can move through a space, L0S
is considered valid.

Snake

I Campbell
I :: ’ Naomi
!f Nastasha
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